I love me some Garden of Wisdom skincare products. There really aren’t very many products Markey makes that I can’t stand. Unfortunately, her rose clay cleanser is one of those items. The benefits listed sound good enough:

* nutrient rich
* clay draws the toxins to the surface of the skin lifting impurities away
* easily rinsed clean with warm water
* deep cleansing
* helps to regulate oil production 
 

but unfortunately, the ingredients themselves aren’t playing with my skin very well. I’ve used my fair share of clay masks before and am a big fan of the ubiquitous Queen Helene mint julep mask. I was expecting the rose clay cleanser to have somewhat the same consistency as the mint julep but was sorely mistaken; with an almost butter-like texture, I found the clay cleanser quite difficult to spread on my skin. I’ve tried it as a regular cleanser rinsing off after swirling around on my face, and as a mini mask allowing it to sit for a minute or two before rinsing and neither one has really blown my mind. If anything, I found it difficult to rinse off and messy, and it sometimes seemed to discolor my skin. At first I thought it was a skin reaction but my skin didn’t feel irritated, it was just the same color as the cleanser and it stayed that way for half an hour or so. It does seem to clean to a certain extent since there wasn’t any makeup residue on the cotton pad after I swiped with toner, but I’ve noticed a few clogged pores and my skin just doesn’t feel fresh and clean like it usually does.

DHC after bath emulsion – I’ve been using this as a leave in under ecostyler and a hard hold gel and don’t find it to be anything special. I’ve had this bottle for quite some time but, of course, have never gotten around to actually trying it. While it pairs moderately well with the ecostyler enough to give me waves halfway similar to ecostyler+kbb milk/super silky, I feel like the moisture content compared to the kbbs is sorely lacking. Upon application, it’s as if I hadn’t applied any leave in at all. In terms of consistency, it’s similar to GDLI. The ingredients aren’t anything to write home about (water/eau, butylene glycol, glycerin,  class=”hiddenSpellError” pre=””>cetearyl alcohol, diglycerin, behentrimonium methosulfate, bis(C13-C15 alkoxy) PG-amodimethicone, steartrimonium chloride, hydroxyethylcellulose, phenoxyethanol, olea europaea (olive) fruit oil, steareth-5, steareth-15, barley extract/extrait d’orge à deux rangs, glyceryl stearate SE, sodium citrate, tocopherol, santalum album (sandalwood) wood extract, phellodendron amurense bark extract, fragrance/parfum, polyquaternium-61, citric acid, PCA ethyl cocoyl arginate) and at $14 for 5 oz, I can think of other products I’m willing to pay S&H for.

Curls by Sister Smith Wet Set Hair Pudding –  Yes, it’s cheap at $5.50 for a whopping 8 oz but for the ingredients list (glycerin, aloe vera, olive oil), I feel like I could just make it at home. It doesn’t truly feel creamy or moisturizing and when used under ecostyler (man, I love this stuff!!!) it did give me decent waves but again, nothing to write home about.

