I really enjoyed my experience with Lora Johnson at Papillon Salon. Although it was radically different from the deva experience I was getting used to, it was a welcome change. I came in with my hair styled as usual and Lora took a good amount of time determine the shape of my face: square with a bit of concave to it as my forehead is a bit wider and my high cheekbones make it sink in the middle a bit; it could also have been heart shaped but my widow’s peak isn’t as pronounced and my jaw isn’t pointed. After determining the shape of my face (something no stylist has EVER done outright), Lora decided that my bangs and layers are good idea but that they need to tweaked a bit with more side layers and movement of the part of my bangs to soften my forehead and temples a bit and allow for a more oval look. I also found out that even though I diffuse every day, my hair was in great shape. Lora also determined my hair type: medium/coarse which made much more sense then the “fine” classification I was previously told. Since my hair can tolerate protein to a certain extent and not daily at that, this definitely rings true.

Lora then took a comb to my waves.

Yes, she combed out my waves. I was a little bit horror-struck at first since I was used to the stylist just start cutting but Lora seemed to know what she was doing. She looked at all sides of my hair and pointed out that the right side was 3 inches longer than the left and that there weren’t as many layers as there should be to allow for better movement and wave enhancement. Lora told me that my hair needed to be slithered to make my waves pop. The technique is a little bit hard to describe but she basically took a section of my hair and ran her scissors vertically down the length. She did this throughout the rest of my hair and also evened out the ends. She washed my hair with re:coil shampoo and conditioner, towel dried a bit with a terry cloth towel, and started diffusing. I know the re:coil conditioner isn’t silicone free and that a terry cloth towel is a no-no, but despite that, I knew I was in capable hands the minute I saw my hair dry.

She let me take over after she scrunched in some re:coil curl activator and liquid fx so I promptly flipped my hair upside down and started diffusing and adding gel as necessary. Once my hair was 75-85% dry, I started arranging my bangs and the rest of my canopy since I didn’t have any clips to kinda “set” things. It was great to hear one of Lora’s coworkers gush over how great my hair looked. It really did.

It’s now two days since the cut and my sisters have seen pics from the day of and one of my coworkers yesterday complimented me and said that looking at my hair made her want to get a perm. Yay! And this despite not using any of my tried-and-true  products (aura gel and cvs curl gel yesterday over kbb milk)!

I’ll post some pictures once the weekend rolls around and my hair has recovered a bit from the shampooing I did today to ensure removal of the silicones from the conditioner.

Today I styled with GoW healthy hair serum and my FSG mixed with some seamollient. I just SOTC and my hair looks all nice and bouncy after last night’s DT.

