I’m pretty amazed by the biolage styling products I’ve purchased: the molding souffle, bodifying creme gel, and the sculpting jelly. Today I decided to try a new product so out came the last of the biolage products I purchased a while ago. The ingredients definitely don’t fall under the “all natural” category [Water, VP/Acrylates/Lauryl Methacrylate Copolymer, Propylene Glycol, Triethanolamine, PEG 10 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Phenoxyethanol, Parfum, PEG 40, Methylparaben, Laureth 4, Limone, Hexyl Cinnamal, 2 Oleamido 1, 3 Octadecanediol, Coumarin, Linalool, Butylphenyl, Methylpropional, Hydroxycitonellal, Amyl Cinnamal, Butylene Glycol, Geranoil, Alpha Isomethyl Ionone, Isoeugenol, Citral, Benzyl Benzoate, Cinnamyl Alcohol, Citronellol, Saccharum Offcinarum (Sugar Cane) Extract, Akebia Trifoliata Stem Extract] but hey, if it works why not? I cowashed with Freeman seakelp smoothing conditioner, rinsed out inecto coconut condish, used my flour sack to blot some water out of my waves, and opened up my tub of biolage sculpting jelly. The consistency is a bit odd; its definitely a gel but rather than smearing all across my palms when I rubbed my hands, the dollop pretty much stuck together. It’s like a gel version of rubber cement. I ended up using about 3 nickels worth to make sure my hair was evenly covered and not just patches here and there.

After plopping I applied 2 dimes of curls goddess glaze and diffused as normal. Once I carefully took  my hair out of the Sedusa, the crunch was amazing. I used my devafuser on the roots for just a couple of minutes and clipped. Rather than getting under the hard hat as I usually do, my hair seemed to have a pretty good styling product cast going so I just did my thing for about an hour and a half before unclipping. 8 hours and one active little 9 1/2 month old nephew later, the result is still pretty good.

It does feel a bit rough so I’ll have to try it out with a bit of leave in underneath. Also I’m in dire need of a haircut so I’m looking forward to meeting Lora Johnson (formerly of HotHeads in Pasadena and Escape in Claremont) on Tuesday. Thank god for finding a well-reviewed stylist in my area! If she’s as good as all the reviews make her out to be, I may have to pass on the 1+ hour drive to Studio City and Capella Salon. Not that I didn’t like Capella – Shai and Keyonna are fabulous and if I still lived in Eagle Rock, Capella would be my salon of choice, but Upland and Lora are only 30 min away!

