The past two weeks have been rather interesting. The week prior was spent racing to meet district deadlines for report approvals and experimenting with some items in my PJ stash. This past week, on the other hand, was spent getting over a nasty cold…in June! Oh the irony.

I’ve still been enjoying my last batch of FSG but the bottles, tubes, and jars of hair products boxed away in my walk-in closet were taunting me to the point where I had to take a break from homemade goods.

I’ve had success with my tub of Biolage sculpting jelly in the past, so I decided to try out the molding souffle as well as a bottle of CVS’s generic version of LA Looks’ Curl gel.

I’m really impressed by the Biolage. I know the ingredients aren’t all that natural but my hair didn’t freak out; it looked soft, wavier than usual, and touchable. Unfortunately, the same can’t be said with the CVS gel. Daily use of the gel led to protein overload. I used it today with a more natural cream underneath (Afroveda curly custard) and my hair seemed to respond better with the combo.

One combo worth remembering is GoW majik lockes and Fairy Tales’ curly Q natural curl maker gel topped off with Curls’ gel-les’c and princess glaze which, unfortunately, will be discontinued. My hair looked great! Wavy, frizz free, soft and defined. My only gripes are that majik lockes is a little cost prohibitive and the princess and goddess glazes will be discontinued. Luckily, I stocked up on the glazes due to the sale so I should be set for quite some time.

