Yup, despite the ultra-moisturizing feel and the fact that it’s listed as low-protein on the Curl Junkie website, my hair felt a bit rough and was noticeably frizzy yesterday. I thought it may be due to having only a little bit of fsg left to use but I don’t think the mop top or cj smoothing gellie have ever made my hair feel rough and dry. It’s a shame since I was pretty pleased with the results the day before yesterday. However, I don’t plan on writing the CJ theory conditioner off. No, if anything, I’ll just rotate it with a protein-free conditioner. Maybe I’ll even give their curl assurance conditioner a shot despite the amodimethicone.

Rather than tempt the hair gods today by trying to rule out the protein in cj theory, I co-poo’d with alaffia and aloeba (need to use it up somehow!), rinsed out kbb milk, scrunched in about a nickel’s worth of kbb super silky and topped it all off with homemade fsg and two dimes of moptop after plopping. I was suprised by the consistency of the super silky – it seemed almost creamier than the nectar and it definitely lingered on my hands after scrunching it in. Comparing the ingredients of the nectar (Purified Water, Grapeseed Oil, Vegetable Glycerin, Vegetable Wax, Panthenol, Yucca Extract, Horsetail Extract, Nettle Extract, Melissa Extract, Essential and/or Fragrance Oil, Vitamin E and Natural Enzymes) vs super silky (Purified Water, Aloe Vera Juice, Vegetable Wax, Coconut Oil, Arnica Extract, Jojoba Oil, Panthenol, Organic Rosemary Hydrosol & Vitamin E)  there are heavier oils in the latter which may account for the heavier feel and creamier texture.

I was less than a little enthused after scrunching in the ss, fsg and mop top so imagine my amazement when I SOTC to get nice, airy, defined, boosted, waves! Waves that are tighter than they are in my “About” picture! Yay!

I’m really pleased with homemade fsg. I made a new batch last night and ended up with about 28 oz. However, it’s always fun to tinker with products so after reading this thread on NC.com, I ordered some seamollient to try adding to my fsg.

