Creative title. Yes, I’ve been pretty bad with the updates but there’s a bit of a lull at work now so I thought to update.

Again, there aren’t any pictures and my descriptions are brief but I just haven’t found the time.

Two weeks ago I decided that AOHR was too heavy for the mild temps we’ve been having here in SoCal so I broke open my bottle of devacare one c. The texture is nice and creamy and it smells (to me) like orangesicles. In the shower, I was surprised that small amounts help detangle like a dream and provide the right amount of moisture for me upon rinsing out. That being said, I probably won’t repurchase as I’m none too fond of DevaCurl’s practices as evidenced in Jillipoo’s blog and the NC.com forums nor am I fond of the brushing off  Miss Massey gave. I would think it extremely unprofessional, if not illegal by FDA standards, to mislabel products just to save some cash/trees by printing new ones. Not only that, but if your products and philosophy helped to “revolutionize” the curly hair industry, wouldn’t you think it incumbent upon you to ensure that you aren’t misleading nor alienating your customers?

The past few days I’ve been dealing with less than stellar hair due to a run in with a GOD AWFUL gel by the name of got2b spiked up. Not only does it smell like embalming fluid but its ingredients probably match: Aqua Water , VP/VA Copolymer , Glycerin , PVP , Carbomer , Oleth-20 , Aminomethyl Propanol , Panthenol , Benzophenone-4 , Disodiium EDTA , DMDM Hydantoin , Parfum Fragrance , Butylphenyl Methylpropional , Linalool , Hexyl Cinnamal , CI 42090 Blue 1. Absolutley NOTHING natural in here except for the water and glycerin which, heck, you can find in a ton of other gels. I only used it twice and just had to chuck it; I wouldn’t even let my SO try to use it up it was that horrendous. Since then, my hair has been stringy and frizzy so I’ve been toying with some of my natural product samples from kathymack in hopes of returning my hair to its normal state.

In line with the title of my post, I’m pretty much copying and pasting product combinations and results from my Outlook notes albeit with a little bit of spackle to hide the bare bones of it all.

04/22-vo5/devacare one c/afroveda custard/giovanni+spike it: pretty good definition; amazing ripples (rather than waves!) up to the crown; good hold but there was frizz by COB.

04/23-vo5/devacare one c/afroevda pur whipped gelly+curly custard/spike it+its a curl moisturizer scrunched in: good definition but with a bit of frizz, good ripples but not like yesterday

04/24-alaffia shea buetter and honey nourishing shampoo/devacare/zerran combed in/aussie sun touched+giovanni la: my waves were thin and fell apart my midday; however, there was a decent amount of volume unfortunately coupled with frizz

04/25-cowash/devacare/afroveda custard+gelly/aussie sun touched+giovanni la: not much wave boosting, decent amount of hold, my hair felt rough and a bit coated and greasy at the roots

04/27-honey almond poo bar/acv rinse/kbb milk/komaza custard/garnier fructis curl spray gel: no hold nor clumping, my hair repelled itself; I would never repurchase this gel

04/28- cowash/devacare/afroveda custard+zerran li over/gf spray gel+nexxus phyto creative sculpting putty: definitely do not like gf gel, however, the definition wasn’t too bad and there wasn’t any frizz, good amount of hold and crunch although my hair looked a little weighed down. The creative gel was light and absorbed well

04/29-co poo with alaffia shea & honey shanpoo+vo5/devacare/zerran/komaza/ remainder of giovanni and nexxus phyto creative: good crunch & hold, no frizz, good definition but flat midway up to crown with good waves at the bottom half, the hold diminshed by 2 pm with increased frizz

04/30-shampoo bar/acv/aloeba/afrodetangler li/loma achieve/used sheam to sotc-liked how achieve isn’t sticky, detangler pretty fluid,  good hold and crunch but experienced stringy waves, not much frizz, good definition

05/01-cowash/qhemet ghee/afrodetangler/komaza/got2b spike it: ugly, stringy, no boosting, hair repelled itself, mediocre hold, limp waves.

05/02-cowash/aloeba/afroveda/got2b spike it: frizzy, dry hair with no definition & boosting, bad hair day, god awful gel, dry hair that felt like a wig, gel completely laden w chemicals

05/04-aloe rid/wdt/ohm shp/ohm aloe: stringy, frizzy, not much definition, feel like wdt isn’t working on my hair, not much hold but incredibly soft hair.

