With the change in weather, I’ve had to deal with a change in my hair routine. For the past few days, my hair hadn’t been cooperating well – somewhat frizzy, no boosted waves, not much clumping, and stringy. I decided to do a little mini hair rehab with products that have never let me down: KBB hair milk as a rinse out, KBB nectar leave-in, and my beloved kinky curly curling custard with a dab of biosilk rock hard gelee. With this no-fail combo, I’ve been blessed with two good hair days so far and can say that my hair is well on it’s way to its former self. The crappy hair days have led me to rule out oyin honey hemp conditioner (much as I adore the scent!) and KMS cranberry pepper gel. I purchased two 1/2 litres of it on sale at a beauty supply store and after two days of use, remembered why I didn’t like it. You’d think my “Product Misses” page would serve as a reminder but the PJ in me just saw the word “SALE” next to a product I’ve tried before. While I wasn’t able to get my money back for the purchase (store policy), I was able to score by exchanging the KMS for 4 bottles of OPI nail polish (cajun shrimp, melon of troy, chapel of love, and argenteeny pinkini) plus a 2.5 oz bottle of the yummy banana-scented Hempz herbal moisturizer. Everything in the entire store was 20% off so I ended up getting a MUCH better deal with my exchange.

It had been about 8 months since my last devacut so I scheduled a trim with Shai at Capella Salon. The instructions were to arrive with my hair dry and styled, preferably washed the day before, but since I’m not one for second day hair (and I can’t sleep without my hair in a scrunchie), I cowashed with VO5, rinsed out KBB hibiscus milk, left in some KBB white tea nectar, and scrunched in KCCC + BRHG. Despite applying only the smallest of dabs of BRHG and mixing well with KCCC, my waves felt a little too rock hard after drying. I don’t think I need as much extra hold as others who use KCCC.

When I arrived at the salon, Shai and I discussed what I was looking to achieve with my hair. He was surprised that my hair is naturally wavy and told me that he initially thought I used styling tools to achieve the waves since “they look perfect.” On top of that, Shai was impressed that the natural waves were on an Asian. He mentioned that he has a couple of Korean clients with curly hair but admits that waves/curls on Asians are pretty rare. I thought Shai was really nice throughout the entire cut; he complimented my hair (asked if I ever thought about hair modeling!) which is always nice and we had pretty good conversation.

Afterward, Shai’s assistant washed my hair and set me up under the hood to dry. She exclaimed over the weight of my hair and told me that since my hair is so heavy and thick, she had to apply a LOT of arcangell. We discussed why I rarely, if ever, air dry and always diffuse, and she mentioned that was probably the best way to ensure that the weight of my wet hair didn’t pull out the waves too much. Also, when I told her that while I love the smell of deva products I find that they don’t do much for my hair, she encouraged me to bring in my own styling products to ensure that I get my hair to look and feel the way I want it.

The overall experience was great and was definitely worth the drive. The icing on the cake was walking out of the smock room and having a 3a curly pass me on her way to the ladies room and mention that my hair looked amazing.

