So today I shampooed with my bay rum bar, did a white vinegar rinse, conditioned with AOHR, and styled with IQCCC and my homemade FSG. The result was a little underwhelming; my waves weren’t frizzy and there was still some clumping, however, there wasn’t any of the wave boosting I’ve noticed as of late and my waves looked a little pulled out. Boo. There is a possibility that using AOHR may have been a little too much or that IQCCC doesn’t play well when using a shampoo bar. To test, the next time I shampoo I’ll use white boots to see whether it’s the creme that contributed to the lank waves. If that experiment isn’t conclusive, I’ll bust out my NG rose to test whether or not AOHR is just building up on my hair…however, I may be able to test that hypothesis by seeing how my hair reacts for the next couple of days.

I made my first iHerb.com purchase which included the following: AO island naturals & GPB conditioners, EO rose & chamomile and honey & chamomile conditioners, BWC leave in, citric acid (for my FSG), and Avalon Organics CoEnzyme Q10 wrinkle defense creme. Yeah. Talk about me stopping my rampant PJism. The reason why I purchased the creme? Well, I’m running low on my beloved PSF phyto-lift cranberry eye gel and right now I can’t justify paying $45.00 for o.5 oz of this amazing gel. Not only that, but the GoW eye serum that I’ve been checking out isn’t that much more cost effective either: $15.30 for 8mL or roughly 0.27 oz. In order to equal PSF’s 0.5 oz, I’d have to spend $30.60 and not only that, but it opens the door to me just “giving in” and adding more GoW goodies to my cart to justify the shipping. I did a search for eye gels on iHerb and stumbled across the Avalon creme; not only did it have a 4.5/5 rating, but there were about 33 pretty good reviews on it. A quick search on MUA showed a small number of ratings but 100% would repurchase the product. At $16.22 for 1.75 oz, it was almost a no brainer.

Ingreds: Organic lavandula angustifolia (lavender) flower(1), chamomilla recutita (chamomile) flower(1), camellia sinensis (white tea) leaf (2) and organic arnica montana flower(3) extracts (aqueous), vegetable glycerin, caprylic/capric triglyceride, glyceryl stearate SE, organic simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) seed oil(2), cetyl alcohol, sodium hyaluronate, organic helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil(2), cetyl ricinoleate, stearyl alcohol, phenoxyethanol, tocopherol (vitamin E), ubiquinone (CoQ10), dimethicone, butyrospermum parkii (shea butter), emulsifying wax, mangifera indica (mango) seed butter, polysorbate 20, citric acid, sodium carbomer, sodium PCA, prunus amygdalus dulcis (sweet almond), rosa canina (rose hip) seed and borago officinalis (borage) oils, tocopheryl acetate (vitamin E), organic citrus aurantium bergamia (bergamot) fruit oil(2) and other essential oil.

I’m not too keen on the fact that dimethicone is included since I avoid silicones on my skin as much as possible. Once I started the RedCatWaves skincare routine of gentle soap-free cleanser, salicylic acid, vitamin C, and moisturizer, I stopped using my trusty Oil of Olay SPF 15 oil free moisturizer because of silicones. On the RCW routine, I don’t think the facewash was effectively removing the cones from my skin. Rather than revert to sulfates and deal with average skin, I just booted the silicones. The fact that the cone in the Avalon creme is halfway down the list seems somewhat innocuous, but we’ll see. I’m hopeful that I can give a positive review after trying it out because if it works, that means I can splurge a little more on other skincare items without feeling too guilty.

