Last night I dyed my hair with Garnier Nutrisse permanent hair dye. Yes, I’ve dyed my hair before both professionally (years ago when I went for an almost auburn look) and at home (mostly with Bigen). Since I have yet to find an asian supermarket here in Rancho and it’s a 45 minute driva back to my parents’ house in Eagle Rock, I strolled through the hair dye section of Target to find something that didn’t contain loads of silicones and had some natural ingredients. I didn’t go by my usual routine of checking the reviews on MUA beforehand so I’m pleasantly surpised to find that this line has the best reviews of the other hairdyes. Yay. I picked up a box in the Soft Black color thinking the dark brown was a shade too light for my hair. It’s been a while since I’ve had to dye my hair (damn you sneaky grey hairs!!!) so I’ve forgotten how god awful it smells and how messy dyes other than Bigen can be. Needless to say, I ended up with dye on my arms and all over the counter. After waiting the 25 minutes and rinsing it out, my hair is a solid black (read: darker than my normal haircolor). Poo. I really had no idea that my hair is more of a brown; I figured I’m asian and my sisters have dark hair so why not? Oh well, I’ll get used to it.

I used the l.a. looks wet look gel today with sheam and a dollop of SAMY get curls re-energizing potion. I’ve been tinkering with this product off and on. Some days I feel like it could be potential KY/CK substitute and other days it seems to weight down my hair, most especially at the roots. Today is one of those days where I’m agreeing with the latter sentiment. My hair looks really flat at the roots and there isn’t much bounce to my waves. Granted I did do a water wash so the loss of volume might be due to that, but the rest of my hair has no excuse.

