Let’s start off with my Pixi review…

From amongst my makeup splurge purchases, I picked out Pixi’s sheer cheek gel in natural and Pixi’s lip blush in purity to try today. I love makeup that will last throughout the day after just one application so both products seemed to fit the bill.

The cheek gel is really light and only a dot or two (I’m talking literally a dot. No 3-D pea-sized dots. I mean, squeeze the minimum out of the tube) is enough to provide good coverage. The color is nice peachy pink and compared to my Tarte stick blush, the staying power is quite impressive. It’s already almost 11 hours after application and I can still see it. I definitely plan on trying it out as a lipstain. The con? At $20.00 it’s not exactly steep but not your usual Target prices. I imagine that since such a minimal amount is necessary to see results, it could last me some time thereby making the cost not seem as daunting.

I’ve purchased the cheek gel in all 4 colors: flushed, natural, sun-kissed, and rosy. Yesterday I tried sun-kissed and found it to produce an odd mix of results; it was too light to see on my cheeks but it came out too dark on my lips. It would be nice for a bronzer, but I don’t really use bronzer. Back to Target it goes!

I’m really liking the lip blush. It’s exactly like a marker but for your lips. I used a light hand to apply it since it’s one of the darker colors; it ended up looking like a nice brownish-red on my lips. I applied a dab of MAC lipgelee in saplicious on top and I was good to go. Compared to my Vincent Longo lip and cheek stain and LORAC sheer wash, I’m surprised to admit that this $20 Target purchase has more staying power than either one! My lips didn’t feel dry at all nor did the color ball up (as with LORAC) or bleed into the lines of my lips and camp out making my lips look zebra striped with color (as with Vincent Longo); it stayed right where it was and it looked fab until lunchtime. I ate cajun creamy pasta so the oil rubbed it off of course. However, my lips don’t look corpse-like like they usually do without any color; there’s the smallest hint of color remaining. Not enough to make it look like I’m still wearing something, but more like a MLBB (my lips but better) look.

I’m really impressed with the Revlon colorstay eyeshadow quad I purchased (well, one of the four I purchased and have tried so far). There’s enough pigment, it feels silky and not grainy, and the powder isn’t creasing in the folds of my eyes by midday. Nice!

Today’s hair is courtesy of a shampoo with Dove Cool Moisture in cucumber and green tea, regis vivid satin rinseout, two blobs of sheam, two dimes of KY, and two palmfuls of Joiwhip. I read on NC.com that some curlies were impressed with the gentle shampooing they experienced with the Dove Cool Moisture. Unfortunately, I can’t hop on the ‘loving it’ bandwagon. Compared to my sulfate free shampoos, I found it to strip my hair a bit more. The first time I tried it, my hair actually squeaked. Not a good thing. Luckily, I didn’t have to drop much money on this shampoo and hope to off it onto my SO. Thank god for Target travel sizes!

I know that some curlies have sung praise for Joico’s Joiwhip mousse before, and I had purchased it based on the glowing reviews, but I still hadn’t tried it out. Since the weather is warming up a bit, I figured I’d give it a shot. After scrunching sheam and ky onto soaking wet hair, I flipped over my Joiwhip can and squirted some out. It’s hard to give exact amounts with mousse since it expands so I’ll just say a palm’s worth once it expanded. After seeing clumping upon gel application, I was expecting to see the same thing, but alas, such was not the case. I blindly applied the mousse wherever I felt like it needed to go, scrunched with my curlease, and plopped. I wasn’t too impressed after taking out the plop; my waves looked skinny and didn’t look boosted at all. I figured I’d probably toss it up in a bun if it looked too bad so I diffused, spritzed in some loreal tightly wound, diffused some more, and clipped.

By the time I arrived at the office an hour later, my hair was pretty much dry. When I started scrunching, I noticed some thick clumps and boosted waves that stayed after the crunch was out! It’s now almost 12 hours later and there is absolutely no frizz, nice definition, a yummy scent, and to top it off, my hair doesn’t feel producty. I feel like I can tousle my hair and not cause any frizz. It’s still my first day using it but I must say that I’m quite impressed with this can of mousse.

