I gave La Bella Super Spikes one last shot and I’ve finally handed it off to my SO. I figured that maybe the combing was the cause of the stringy waves with this gel so I gave it a shot with soaking wet hair. Yup. My suspicions were confirmed – La Bella sucks. I cowashed with Giovanni 3T condish (done with this dud, finally), rinsed out b2b jasmine, combed my hair and scrunched in JCRR and 2 cupped palm globs of la bella. My hair is fluffy with no hold whatsoever, undefined, stringy, and sorely lacking in the wave boosting part. Luckily, it doesn’t contain protein so my SO is willing to take this off my hands.

The next gel I will be trying is Giovanni Styling Gel L.A. Natural Strong Hold. A quick glance at the ingredients (Aqua (Purified Water) with Rosemary¹ (Rosmarinus Officinalis) Oil, Nettle¹ (Urtica Dioica) Oil, Thyme¹ (Thymus Vulgaris) Oil, Birch Leaf (Butela Alba) Oil, Chamomile¹ (Anthemis Nobilis Flower) Oil, Clary¹ (Salvia Sclarea), Lavender¹ (Lavandula Angustifolia), Coltsfoot Leaf¹ (Tussilago Farfara), Yarrow¹ (Achillea Millefolium) Oil, Mallow¹ (Malva Sylvestris), Horsetail¹ (Equistetum Arvense) Oil, PVP/VA Copolymer, Soybean¹ Protein (Glycine Soja), Hydroxyethylcellulose (plant derived), Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Citric Acid (corn), Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Grapefruit Seed (citrus derived)) leads me to suspect that it might end up like KMF. We shall see tomorrow…

