It’s just 3 hours after I fixed my hair at home and my “waves” are already back in a ponytail. Not only can you not call my hair wavy today, but to call it frizz-free is a cruel joke. I used Kiss My Face Upper Management gel today and let me tell you, this gel can kiss something else. Sure the ingredients look and sound all organic and good for the hair [Ingreds: Certified Organic Aqua of Urtica dioica, Calendula officinalis & Anthemis nobilis, Hyaluronic Acid, Sodium Hydroxymethylglycinate (Amino Acid derived), Faex, Panthenol, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Citrus grandis] but I found it to have the opposite effect.

I cowashed and used a rinseout as usual (Freeman and yes to carrots) and combed my zerran leave-in. For having had a mere 3 hours of sleep thanks to the wonderfully long line at the Mexico/CA border, I was still lucid enough to know that the clumps looked quite nice so I was rather excited to use the new gel. First off, the gel was thick and sticky. That’s ok, I’ve used thick gels before. Scrunching it into my hair, it seemed to disappear like Angell but it left some sort of dry, plasticky feel like when you apply a cream or lotion that turns into a powder (sans the plasticky part). Can’t be too bad, I thought. My hair soaked up Angell, right? I scrunched a bit more water out and plopped for 15 min. When I took out the towel to diffuse, the clumps were still there but they were mixed in with some stringy, almost straight clumps. I still had hope at that point. Well, that evaporated the minute I turned on the hairdryer; there was practically instantaneous frizz and although I did my usual pixiecurl method, the straighter clumps refused to wave. I gave up and clipped hoping that it wouldn’t turn out as bad as it was starting to look like. A bowl of cereal later, and my hair resembled something like this with some wonky curly parts:

Not very attractive. Even my SO commented on how bad my hair looked and this is a guy who doesn’t see frizz when I’d swear that I’m walking around like a bad ad for Frizz Ease. With that, my hair is up in a bun to save my workers (and my dignity) from gazing upon the awfulness that is today’s hair.

I thought I had bad hair days before, but this one definitely takes the cake. It’s almost as though I didn’t put anything in my hair and decided to brush it out like my hair is straight. I’m going to give the gel one more shot and then it’s back to the cupboard to try in the winter.

