One NC.com thread posed the question: how many conditioners do you own? My response? A whopping 21 cowashes (Suave, VO5, and Freeman conditioners), 31 rinseout conditioners (stuff from B2B Jasmine to Jessicurl WDT), and 10 leave-ins (I most likely have more but didn’t want to embarass myself even more with the total number). Yeah. So I decided to join the other curlies on this thread and have a self-imposed ban on hair products for the entire month of July. I vow I will not buy anything hair related for the 31 days, 744 hours, 44,640 minutes, and 2,678,400 seconds that make up the month of July.

I have enough conditioners, cowashes, gels, cremes, mousses, and heck, even shampoos to justify not having to purchase products for more than a year. What fuels my decision is the fact that a lot of the other products on my “to try” list are either 1) pretty all natural so having them sit in my cabinet or drawer would be a waste, or 2) something I would have to order online so the shipping cost is something to factor in. I see it as a great opportunity to try each product I’ve been hoarding and finding out what combo works and what doesn’t.

Now on to the new styling method. I’m still liking it. I actually tried a half-assed version of sectioning my hair and it turned out surprisingly well. Still some pulled out waves, but a good amount of definition. The photos that I uploaded onto my Fotki look frizzier than it really is. (Oh the woes of taking photos of dark hair at night).

