It’s the last Sunday of the month so I pulled out my suave clarifying shampoo and went to town. I used my Sally’s generic value Aussie 3 MM as a rinseout. I’m not sure how I feel about it. My hair is soft, yes, and the grape kool-aid scent isn’t too bad but there is frizz.

Ingredients: water, cetrimonium chloride, cetyl alcohol, glyceryl stearate, peg 12 distearate, foenculum vulgare fruit extract (fennel), humulus lupulus extract (hops), melissa officinalis leaf extract (balm mint extract), achillea millefolium extract (yarrow extract), hydrolyzed casein, avena sativa kernel flour (oat), simmondsia chinensis seed oil (jojoba), chamomilla recuita flower extract (matricaria), yeast extract, helianthus annuus seed oil (sunflower), aloe barbadensis flower extract, carthamus tinctorius seed oil (safflower), simethicone, stearyl alcohol, lechitin, sorbitol, glycerin, glycol stearate, acetamide mea, cetrimonium bromide, sodium lauriminodipropionate, fragrance, dicetyldimonium chloride, stearalkonium chloride, phosphoric acid, propylene glycol, methylparaben, propylparaben, tetrasodium edta, dmdm hydantoin, yellow 6.

I’m not sure if the casein and the oat flour are the ones causing the frizz. If so, then dang my hair is sensitive to proteins! I figured that since the two proteins are further down the list and they’re surrounded by humectants, oils, and such that it wouldn’t affect my hait so much, but I’m not entirely sure. Granted, it could be caused by the sulfate shampoo, but I guess I’ll have to wait til the end of July to find out the culprit.

I read Jillipoo’s blog entry on AVG so I decided to give it a shot since it was a stay at home day. My hair does feel softer and waves seemed to materialize out of the woodwork. Maybe it was buildup or a lack of moisture, I don’t know. I will definitely try AVG tomorrow.

Zigazaga’s method is growing on me. I don’t have the patience to try sectioning off the hair and combing the undercanopy then the canopy, however. Maybe I’ll try it out on the day I work from home. The only lingering complaint is that my waves seemed pulled out. I’m still getting used to all the layers again and the shorter hair, so the next couple of months (especially it being my first CG summer) will be just trial and error.

