So yesterday I tried zigazaga’s method. My first attempt was a bust. I did my usual routine but tried to comb in sheam upside down. Yeah….I don’t recommend trying that because after I flipped upright, my hair decided to act like a shelf. I tried to make the best of it but when I took it out of the plop, it was just WAY too stringy.

I hopped back into the shower and did a quick cowash and rinseout. I then combed in ky jelly upright running my fingers in after combing. I scrunched in two dollops of bold it! and re-plopped. I was fully prepared for it to come out hellishly ugly; it was a hot day so putting my hair up wouldn’t cause too much grief. Especially since it’s rare for me to go out with my hair up now.

The SO and I had plans to catch Wall E so I diffused for just 5 min and air-dried the rest of the way. I wasn’t sure how my hair was looking so I high-tailed it to the theatre restroom. I was pleasantly surprised: the combing resulted in even distribution of the KY jelly so there wasn’t one rogue frizzy section sticking out like a sore thumb. The clumps were pretty nice albeit a little skinner than usual. I’m coming to terms with the fact that the new haircut doesn’t result in major clumping like before because it’s all broken up with layers.

I definitely think this is something I’m going to toy with a bit more. I tried it out today and I really think the combing helps break things up a bit to allow like to stick to like i.e., the shorter layers aren’t tangled up within the longer layers. Also, I definitely like the even distribution of product. The only drawback to this method is that my waves are a little more pulled out than usual. I don’t mind that so much if it results in less frizz.

I’m realizing that my hair is definitely meant to be wavy. No amount of scrunching or diffusing can make my hair curlier than it’s meant to be. One thing that lead to my acceptance is this: doing a google search on “how to deal with wavy hair” brought up so many you tube hits of women with straight hair using curling irons to get the waves that come naturally to me.

