Now, I wasn’t really into self tanning before because I was a bit of a tomboy. But now that I like wearing skirts and dresses (and my SO likes seeing me in them), I don’t want my legs to blend in with the white skirt I’m wearing! I know getting a real tan is bad for you and that’s why I’m in pursuit of the perfect self tanner.

I’ve already found a self tanner that is absolutely perfect in every way. Application is a breeze, it doesn’t get all over my sheets or stain my clothes, the scent doesn’t make you want to gag, and the color…oh the color…it’s just PERFECTION. Why am I still searching then? Because Sally’s no longer carries it. And they’re not only not carrying it – it’s no longer manufactured! The icing on the cake is this: I found two bottles of it at a Sally’s about 3 months ago on clearance. I picked them up because of the reviews on Makeup Alley; I hadn’t tried it myself but going off the reviews alone, it would have been stupid to ignore those two bottles. I tried it out as soon as I got home and fell in love. It gives the perfect color – just like I spent the weekend at the beach or something. But alas, the HG of self tanners, Savage Bronze is no more and I’m left to find a suitable replacement.

Let’s start with the self tanner I tried on the left: Sephora brand Body Self-Tanning Tinted Bronzing Mist. At $12 it doesn’t sound too bad considering most self tanners (the non drugstore kind) retail for $25+. BUT at just 5 oz and it being a mist, I think that evens the playing field. I read reviews on Makeup Alley comparing it to Savage Bronze and got all excited. I picked up a bottle and went at it. My first try, I was slightly impressed. The fragrance was nice, nothing like the usual self tanner scent. The color looked alright but nothing like SB. The annoying thing was the application. I felt like it went EVERYWHERE. My bathroom floor felt sticky and wet. Ick. Despite the directions, I did blend it into my skin like I would any other self tanner. Second time around, I tried it without blending and was worse off. The coloring was spotty and orange. Back to Sephora it went.

When I returned the self tanner, I checked out the store for other SB replacements. Maybe it’s the layout at that particular store, but there wasn’t a section devoted to tanning products. I distinctly remember there being one at the Glendale Galleria store, but oddly enough, Victoria Gardens doesn’t. Pooh. I didn’t want to go through the trouble of roaming aisle by aisle for a self tanner that would most likely set me back $40+ so I headed over to Ulta to check out their selection. While Ulta in no way provided me with a plethora to choose from, they did have the 3 brands that I’ve heard of the most: Fake Bake, St, Tropez, and SUN Laboratories. I had tried SUN labs two years ago with mediocre results, but I picked up a bottle and decided to give it another shot.

I purchased the self tanning lotion in Medium. I was debating between the Dark and Ultra Dark formulation, but I didn’t want the color to be too dramatic lest it be too obvious. You know, pale one day and then bronzed, super dark the next. And not only that, I admit I was a bit apprehensive about buying Ultra Dark. My skin is golden already and I didn’t want there to be a MAJOR difference between my already naturally tanned arms and my (fake) super dark legs. I exfoliated in the shower, lotioned up the knees and ankles and applied the ST in a circular motion to reduce streaking. The color guide was nice enough to make me excited for tomorrow. It dried well and didn’t stain my sheets. I woke up, hopped in the shower, and rinsed the color guide off. To my chagrin, Medium just wasn’t enough color for me. Not only that, but it was streaky. And top of that, it was orange.

I plan on trying Fake Bake next, followed by St. Tropez, and the Faux Tan by Bare Escentuals that has been getting good reviews on MUA.

Here’s to getting the perfect (fake) tan!

And oh yes, UPS FINALLY admitted that the package was lost. I’m expecting a refund from the shipper within a week. Yay!

